Marjorie Peeler – almost 84 years old.

Marj – signature on art work. I retired from potting when my husband died in December 1998. I moved into Asbury Village–a retirement community–a year and a half ago, the summer of 2008.

I’ve been more closely tied to the Putnam County Museum than the DePauw campus and the Peeler Art Center. I had a retrospective show of Richard and Marj Peeler work in 2007 at the PCM. Eventually the PCM published a book of Peeler work, this Christmas 2009.

I worked with the Mental Health America of Putnam County to publish a child’s book which they sell to raise money for MHAPC. I wrote and illustrated it when I was 75. All proceeds go to MHAPC.

Most of my friends are connected with DePauw, or were, in younger days.

I have 4 sons–Walter, a retired designer engineer with Boeing in Seattle, now living in Kuai, Hawaii. Raymond–a design engineer living in Westfield (N. of Indy), Stewart–a goldsmith in Tuscon, AZ, and Ralph–a metallurgist living in Sullivan Co.

I grew up in Indianapolis, went to U. of Minnesota, moved to 18 acres of forest in rural Putnam Co., built a rammed earth home, pottery studio, pond and gazebo for 55 years.

I call this HOME now. I haven’t much of a connection to Greencastle, but I like it here.

– Marj

Comments are closed.