James D. Ferguson

My hometown is Daleville, Indiana’s newest town with a population of around three thousand Hoosiers. 2009 was my year of graduation, the year when I walked across the stage with my fifty classmates. We are a brilliant bunch, a true representation of what small classes and caring administrators can accomplish. Our school system was a little underfunded yet we made the list of Indiana four star schools, which is probably what kept Mitch Daniel’s attention away from our schools and unconsolidated with neighboring districts.
A small town school can provide an amazing education, unique experiences and leniency with staff. I was friends with my teachers, cooking staff, janitors, and administrators. I had a first name relationship with many of these people throughout high-school and my principle’s wife even used to send me vegetarian pastas for lunch. Class experience was nice; we ate donuts and coffee in first period throughout junior and senior year and the teachers never gave us hype about “proper” behavior, we just demanded that there be no blood or other body fluids. A typical class had between five to twenty people and everyone lived within a good rocks throw of on another. The community typically functions as a large family, which gives the school kids a lot of space to be mischievous. Some of my fondest memories of school trouble were burning a sink with magnesium metal, putting deer piss in the ventilation system above the cafeteria and smoking cigarettes with school staff. Small town
schools are great and let me just briefly mention where they can take a person.
I am almost twenty years old and finishing my first year of undergraduate study at DePauw University, where I am receiving the closest thing to a free education one can get. I have deans list grades and dreams of graduate school. Small towns leave their mark on the individual, and give people the resources to leave their mark on the world.

Leave a Reply

