Katie Doogan

I am 24 days from becoming 24 years old. I have been many places. Moving my entire life: Japan, DC, Vegas, Belleville, Beavercreek, Detroit, and now, Greencastle. I like this place. This is the place I’ve lived the longest. In some ways I have roots here. I live on Washington Street in a house owned by semi-retired professor. He advised me as a student writing non-fiction. He advised me on a job opening in Charter House, in University Development. I raise monies for student scholarships and work with young alumni volunteers. I had thought about living in Plainfield. My mentor Mary asked me why? Panera Bread? I said, you’re right. Greencastle. A place where I can walk to work. A place where I can walk to work, walk to yoga, walk to pilates, walk to the Nature Park, walk home, walk to the farmers’ market, swim, bike, run. This summer I am racing eight triathlons, 1 Little 5 criterium, 2 5K runs, and 1 5K swim. I crave competition. I swam for DePauw and won for DePauw. I am training
now to be faster. This will be my fastest summer yet. My senior year at DePauw I wrote my memoir up to sixth grade. I am writing again to get to know my teenage self. I’m unsure how to know her.  She hasn’t been to Greencastle yet.

Comments are closed.